What is the Iowa Algebra Aptitude Test (IAAT)?

By | February 21, 2019

The Iowa Algebra Aptitude Test™ (IAAT) provides educators with a valid and reliable measure of algebra readiness designed and developed to NCTM standards. The test is divided into 4 parts. Each part consists of 15 questions with 10 minutes allotted per section. Below is a brief description of the test taken from the publisher’s(HMH) website.

Part One: Pre-Algebraic Number Skills and Concepts

Assesses how well students understand mathematical skills and concepts necessary to succeed in an algebra course

Part Two: Interpreting Mathematical Information

Assesses how well students can learn new materials presented in graphs or text.

Part Three: Representing Relationships

Assesses students’ abilities to find formulas for numerical relationships.

Part Four: Using Symbols

Assesses how well students understand important symbols of algebra and their use.